Tuesday, 22 April 2014

O BRO: A MUSICAL CELEBRATION OF THE COEN BROS.



Hello there,
The Red Clay Halo and I are performing this Friday 25th April at St. George's in Bristol. It's a special kind of show because, as well as doing some of our own songs, we'll also be doing covers of various songs used in the films of the Coen Brothers. We'll also be collaborating with the wonderful acts also playing on the night. They are...

I had a bit of fun and made a playlist of some of my favourite Coen Brothers tracks as well as included some songs by the artists above. You can listen in here if you fancy...


There's still some tickets left but grab them whilst you can!

TICKETS

Hope to see you there! Emily x
ps. Here's us rehearsing one of the songs we'll be performing...

Thursday, 17 April 2014

Songs Beneath the River Limited Edition 10" Vinyl EP


Hello there, I've just stepped off the plane from Nashville and am back on British turf ready to get stuck into celebrating Record Store Day and the release of our limited edition 10" vinyl EP 'Songs Beneath the River'.
The recording was made a couple of months ago in Mark Ronson's Zelig studios where The Red Clay Halo and I recorded direct to vinyl via a link through to Gearbox Records' incredible mastering suite next door. Here's a video which sheds a bit more light on this antiquated direct-to-disc recording method and how we went about making the EP...



So why Songs Beneath The River? The four songs on the EP were chosen from the list we had put together of music that informed and inspired the writing and arranging on our album Dear River...

Tracklist for ‘Songs Beneath The River’:
SIDE A
1. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
2. Easter
SIDE B
1. Tougher Than The Rest
2. Day After Tomorrow

To celebrate the release, we'll be doing a bunch of in-store appearances...

Fri 18 Apr
Union Music Store, Lewes, 3pm (solo)

Sat 19 Apr
Brill, Exmouth Market, London, 9am (solo)
Banquet, Kingston, 11am (with The Red Clay Halo)
Pie & Vinyl, Southsea, 2pm (with The Red Clay Halo)
Music’s Not Dead, Bexhill, 5.30pm (with The Red Clay Halo)

Sun 20th Apr
Sound Knowledge, Marlborough, 3pm (solo)

Tues 22nd Apr
Trading Post, Stroud, 7pm (solo)

Hope you can make it along to one of the shows!
Best wishes,
Emily

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

European tour dates with Austin Lucas + PJ Bond



Hey all, I'm excited to announce that I'll be heading over to the mainland for a run of shows with the awesome Austin Lucas and PJ Bond.


Here are all the shows…
Sat 22nd Feb - NiXenmeeR Blues Club, Enschede (NL)
Sun 23rd Feb - ACU, Utrecht (NL)
Mon 24th Feb - JH Tijl, Diest (BE)
Tues 25th Feb - Q-Bus, Leiden (NL)
Weds 26th Feb - Merleyn, Nijmegen (NL)

Mon 10th March - Chez Heinz, Hannover (DE)
Tues 11th March - Werk 2, Leipzig (DE)
Weds 12th March - Underground, Cologne (DE)
Thurs 13th March - Schlachthof, Wiesbaden (DE)
Fri 14th March - Strom, Munich (DE)
Sat 15th March - Kofmehl, Solothurn (CH)
Mon 17th March - B72, Vienna (AT)
Tues 18th March - Alte Mälzerei, Regensburg (DE)
Weds 19th March - Musiktheater, Kassel (DE)
Thurs 20th March - Cassiopeia, Berlin (DE)
Fri 21st March - Rock Club St Pauli, Hamburg (DE)
Sat 22nd March - Gleis 22, Münster (DE)
Sun 23rd March - Zwölfzehn, Stuttgart (DE)
Mon 24th March - Garage, Saarbrücken (DE)

See you out there!
Emily x

Monday, 13 January 2014

Hello Sydney!


Dear Sydneysiders, I'm in your midst! See…
And I'm very pleased to announce that I'll be doing 4 solo shows as part of the Sydney Festival:

Monday 13 January : 6.30 – 7pm and 7.30 – 8pm
Tuesday 14 January : 6.30 – 7pm and 7.30 – 8pm
Monday 20 January : 8pm – 9pm
Tuesday 21 January : 8pm – 9pm

And the good news is that the shows are all free to attend. More details HERE

I'm also playing host to the smallest music venue in the world: 'Folk in a Box' We have a bespoke 'Aussie' box and I've been booking tonnes of brilliant local Sydney performers to come and play songs to one person at a time in the dark. We're set up in the Festival Village every evening (apart from Mondays and Tuesdays) between 5pm and 10pm from tomorrow, 9th January until Sunday 26th January. I'll also be performing in the box. So please pop down for what is a hugely unique and wonderful experience!
More details here: Festival Village

Hope to catch you over the next few weeks.
Best wishes and happy new year,
Emily
x